Is your style a work in progress? My tips to help you out

Do you find it hard to find things you love in stores? Do you constantly find yourself asking others for their opinion on your clothing choices? You need to hone your sense of style. Now, I know this is a bit of a tall order, but there a few steps you can take to make this process a lot easier. Keep in mind this is most certainly a process. You’re not going to look at one website or one celebrity and say, wow! That’s my style, I know exactly what I’m looking for now! And that’s okay. That celebrity took some time to hone their style before they got where they are now, and so did I. I am prepared to give you a few tips to help out in your journey. These are the three things that I wish I would have known when I was just beginning.

1. Don’t feel the need to follow trends

We’ve all done it before, bought that crazy top that everyone is wearing, or one of those scratchy pullovers that everyone raves about. Trends are a driving force in a lot of peoples wardrobes. When you think about it though, trends are just passing fads. Soon to be replaced with a new “it item.” shopping for trends will leave you broke, and definitely won’t help you hone your personal style. I think fashion should be an expression of you not what the media is telling you to look like.

2. Do pop in stores you wouldn’t normally shop at

When I was younger, say 6th and 7th grade, I only shopped at a few stores. I totally went through that Abercrombie/Hollister phase *shudders* but I grew out of it, and I wish I would have branched out sooner. Even the most dingy thrift stores can hold some amazing treasures, for a great price! Furthermore, it’s fun to be different. If you solely shop at stores that are popular chains, there’s no doubt that you are going to see someone else at school or elsewhere wearing your clothes! Alternatively, if you shop at a wide variety of stores and more underground shops, you can bet your pieces will be 100% unique. So next time you’re out shopping, pop in that tiny boutique you always pass by. You never know, you could find something great!

3. Don’t cave to peer pressure

This one is similar to number one, and is specifically for high school students. Don’t feel the need to dress like everyone else! It’s easy to conform to what your friends are wearing or what the “popular” kids are wearing, but what’s impressive is being yourself. If you like something that is a little out there, go with your gut. Don’t be afraid of what other people will think, screw them! If you love it, wear it. Don’t be afraid of people judging you because honestly, in the real world, the conformists aren’t the ones who get noticed. So take a risk!

I hope you enjoyed this post and that it might have helped you somehow. Haha, thanks for reading! xo

What’s the craziest outfit you’ve ever worn? Or, what is the thrifted purchase you’re most proud of? Tell me in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “Is your style a work in progress? My tips to help you out

tawk to meh!

